30 Day Simplicity Challenge- Day 6

Lord, this has been a day so far.  Everyone has fires they have to put out, and of course it’s all my fault the fires were ignited so late in the game.  By 10 o’clock, I was ready to hit the bar downstairs for a drink.

No, those fires are not my fault (you waited until the last minute).  Yes, I will help you resolve (I always do, don’t get your panties in a twirl).  Yes, I agree we need to figure out why these fires always happen (because you are idiots).  No, I will not spearhead that task (I don’t get paid enough to do your job as well).

Thankfully, I have a detailed filing system and every work related email- and some juicy personal ones I may use to burn some butts some day- is placed in a file.  All I have to do is search and I can bring up an email from 2002 or yesterday.  I had to develop this system- because I’m constantly covering my ass from those who just. Don’t. Get. It.

The one place that’s a little messy is My Desktop.  I tend to throw a lot of crap there when I need to get at it quickly.  I love my desktop theme, it’s very pretty and it calms me, but now it’s got all these folders and files all over it and that won’t do. So for today’s challenge…

DAY 6 of 30:

Go through your desktop on your work PC or your personal PC and delete or file those ugly files/folders.  If you don’t already have one, find a nice wallpaper that makes you feel good and upload it.

  • delete all the folders containing emails that you send out weekly.  You can always find them in your SENT file.
  • file the spreadsheets.  There is no need to keep them on your desktop.  Put them in My Documents if you need to keep them.
  • Recycle Bin is your friend.  Toss it away.
  • Line up your icons so that it’s neat and it doesn’t get in the way of your wallpaper.

Thankfully (well, not really) I am borrowing Beena’s laptop to use when I work from home so I don’t keep anything on that Desktop or on her PC.  Maybe someday I’ll get my own laptop (pfft!) but in the meantime, I’m not messing anything up on the home front.

Did you have to put out any fires today?  Deal with any stoopid peoples? Make me feel better then let’s go get a drink!

img_2038

Isn’t this pretty?  The colors are more vibrant than my bleak iPhone picture.

Leave a Reply

