30 Day Simplicity Challenge

I’m sitting at work, finishing up some things I have to do.  It’s a quiet Friday, literally calm before the storm, since we’re expecting a blizzard starting sometime early tomorrow morning going through to Sunday.  No one is in the New Jersey office due to a water main break last night.  No one is asking me for anything urgent so I’m running some routines and uploading some plans.

And since the system is slow, I’m reading “The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up: The Japanese Art of Decluttering and Organizing” by Marie Kondo.  Yes, I drank the Kool-Aid and bought the book with the gift card MR gave me for Christmas.  The Amazon gift card, not the usual Joann’s gift card.  Yes, I brought that up for a reason, lol, to be discussed later…

A few months ago, I took a good hard look at all the crap I’ve accumulated- my clothes, my shoes, my crafts, my everythings- and starting with my closet, I was able to pare down my work wardrobe into less than 50 pieces.  It really helped that I finally lost some weight and am now able to fit into some of the stuff I put aside waiting for said weight loss.  Since I had a basic knowledge of the KonMarie method of de-cluttering (and if you read ANY mommy blogs, you’d have that basic knowledge too) I took each piece in hand and decided if it gave me joy.  Then I tried everything on to see if my reflection gave me joy.  If I hesitated at all, I got rid of that piece.  Off to Savers, off to Lupus.

I tried the Stylebook app, and spreadsheets and lists to figure out what went with what, but they were all too time-consuming to start and then maintain.  Index cards, Pinterest and a numbering system worked best and I was able to put together outfits and see where I needed to supplement.  I shopped around, got some deals and filled in some gaps.

I no longer cry in the morning that I have nothing to wear.  I feel good about everything I put on.

So I’m continuing on with the KonMarie method, but I’m also setting a challenge up for myself- a 30 Day Simplify Challenge.  I’ll post one challenge here each day (it will also get me back to blogging) and how I handle that one task.  Nothing earth shattering, nothing too strenuous.  Just little ways to simplify and declutter.  If you’re still reading here and you want to join in, let me know!

DAY 1 of 30:

Take everything out of your every day bag and get rid of anything you don’t use daily.

  • There is no need to keep all those receipts- put them in a folder to go through later.  Put the folder on your desk at home.
  • Condense your personal items (chapstick, hand sanitizer, tweezers (!?) and put them in a little makeup bag.
  • Take all that spare change at the bottom of your bag and put it in a change purse or at least a ziplock bag. Better yet, put it in the loose change jar behind your bedroom door.
  • Gather up all those pens, test them, throw out the ones that don’t work and put two back.
  • Throw away the hot sauce packets. That’s a disaster waiting to happen.
  • Toss the little pieces of paper, the loose Lifesavers and all the empty Metrocards.
  • Take out all the earrings, watches and necklaces you tend to shed during the day and put them back in the jewelry box.
  • Get a small makeup bag or coupon folder to put all those loose coupons in.  Go through them first to see if they’ve expired.  Don’t worry about sorting, just clean them up and get them in something so they don’t float around your purse.

Your pocketbook shouldn’t weigh you down and make your back hurt!  Once you’ve decluttered your bag, make it a habit to clean it out every Sunday night before you go to bed.

Day one, done. Day two tomorrow if we don’t lose power!

 

 

One thought on “30 Day Simplicity Challenge

Leave a Reply

