Serious Eats for One Month- Keep Calm and Meatball On.

My husband is a meticulous man.  I guess that’s why he loves watches- all the gears, the movements, the jewels- they all work in meticulous harmony in a little teeny tiny case to keep accurate time.

He’s meticulous to a fault sometimes.  He will research and draw plans and measure a billion times before he even thinks of starting a project.  That’s the point where his confidence says, “you know how to do this, you are prepared but if you even think of starting you will fuck this up.”  I’d like to kick his wimpy little confidence in the teeth sometimes.  I KNOW he’s capable of marvelous things but that self-doubt holds him back a lot.  He’s one of the smartest and talented persons I know but I can’t get him to do crap around the house until he’s damn good and ready.

Same thing with cooking.  He never used to help in the kitchen unless it was making tuna sandwhiches.  He makes a DAMN good tuna sammich, and I tell him that every time.  I don’t remember when it was that I asked him to make chicken cutlets (breaded and fried) but he mastered that, too.  Practically everyone loves MR’s chicken cutlets.  And venison cutlets.  Don’t ask me to do the venison.  Whatever I do is not to his standards, so I don’t even try (much).  Fine by me if he has specialties.  Less time at the stove for me.

Meatballs were a natural progression from cutlets.  He researched online, grilled his mom on how she makes hers and experimented until he perfected his meatballs to his and everyone else’s liking.  They’re moist, garlicky and actually the star of our spaghetti and meatball dinners because as you recall, my sauce is shit.  Well, it was.

When I asked him to make meatballs following a Serious Eats recipe for the sake of our experiment, he was dubious.  “Send me the recipe and I’ll look at it.”  I sent it to his office and a few minutes later he came out to the living room and declared these meatballs will not be good.  No garlic, no cheese, no oregano.  What the heck is Adobo, he asks me?  I hesitated before I told him it was a Spanish seasoning.  He turned and walked away muttering to himself.

But he made them, and they were good, they were just not the meatballs we love.  He makes them with love, and you can tell.  We will love them and continue to let him make them his way.

Super Simple Friday Night Meatballs

Ingredients:

  • For the Sauce:
  • 2 (28 ounce) cans whole peeled tomatoes
  • 2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 6 to 8 cloves minced garlic (about 2 tablespoons)
  • 1 (6 ounce) can tomato paste
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • For the Meatballs:
  • 4 slices bread, crusts removed
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 pounds 80/20 ground beef
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons adobo seasoning (such as Goya), see note above
  • 1/2 cup minced fresh parsley leaves
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • Olive oil for frying
  • Pasta and grated Parmesan cheese for serving

Procedures:

Tear bread into rough chunks and pulse in the food processor until reduced to fine crumbs. Transfer to a large bowl. Add the eggs and mix with your hands until combined. Add beef, adobo seasoning, and half of the parsley. Combine mixture with your hands, working the bread crumbs into the meat until meat mixture can form a ball that holds together when tossed back into the bowl. Do not over mix.

Place a small amount of mixture on a microwave-safe plate and microwave on high until cooked, about 20 seconds. Taste and add salt and/or pepper to mixture to taste. Using wet hands, form the mixture into balls roughly 2 tablespoons each, about 1 1/2- to 2-inches across. Place the balls on a large parchment or wax paper-lined tray as you work.

Add enough oil to a large cast iron or stainless steel sauté pan to form a thin layer across the bottom. Heat over medium-high heat until shimmering. Add as many meatballs as will fit in a single layer and cook until well browned on first side. Gently turn balls with tongs or a thin metal spatula and continue cooking and turning until well browned on all sides. As the meatballs finish browning, add them to the pot of sauce and replace them with raw meatballs. Continue, adding more oil as necessary, until all meatballs are browned and in the sauce. (MR baked the meatballs because the sauce was not done yet.  I personally like baked meatballs over fried anyway.)

And btw- I ordered a Lodge Enamel Dutch Oven from Target yesterday.  It was only $57.99, free shipping!  It’s freaking orange, my favorite color!  I went through Ebates and got $1.43 back- woot woot!

KINKYBOOTS!

Leave a Reply

