Drumroll, Please

I told you I had BIG NEWS.  Hold on to your panties, then.

Yes, I went and did it again.  It’s not like I don’t have anything to do, and I need to fill my time.  On the contrary, between work, kid(s), cleaning, sewing, shopping, laundry and occasionally cooking, I have very little time left at the end of the day.

But I’ve been thinking about this project for about a year now, surfing the web researching and fine tuning my approach.  I feel like my brain has been pregnant with this idea and now I’ve given birth.

Introducing…Heartz and Craftz!

The site went live November 20th and I’ve booked two parties already.  Woot woot!

The concept behind Heartz and Craftz is basically, I didn’t want to sell other people’s shit.  I’ve been that route before with Passion Parties.  I loved going to people’s homes and demonstrating the dildos, but it got to a point where people only booked a party for the entertainment value (who DOESN’T like to pass a 12-inch double-headed dildo around a circle without using your hands…)  I’d walk away with less than $100 in sales for three to four hours of work.  Yes, I know, I could have sold jewelry, or cookware, or candles but really?  I don’t want to work for someone else.  I don’t want to sell other people’s shit!  I’ve got plenty of my own shit to sell.

And with Heartz and Craftz Parties I know I’m going to make a certain amount based on the number of guests coming to the host’s house.  And I get to bring my already-made crafts with me to sell at the party.  It’s like going to my own private craft sale!  Plus, the crafts I’m teaching are awesome, the price for learning how to do it is CHEAP and people will be able to purchase additional kits to continue with the craft they just learned.

Before H&C was born, I’ve been testing with live subjects (Mwah-ha-ha…maniacal mad-scientist laugh).

For the last two weeks I’ve been holding craft classes for the neighborhood kids and Zombiegirl’s soccer team, trying to get a feel for certain crafts and the logistics of teaching the craft itself.  I’ve got eight more classes scheduled for the next four weeks (they’re held Fridays and Saturdays, $10 each) testing out even more classes.  I have to say (with some surprise) I’M HAVING A BLAST!

I’ve already discontinued one craft (resin) and will be “beta” testing another soon.  My partner (Zombiegirl) and I have been making the sample crafts ahead of time to be sure they’re kid friendly.  Friends of mine will be testing some of the classes for me beginning in 2012 with once-a-month adult classes!  I. Am. Loving. This!

I’m scoping out some craft fairs so I can give my card to particularly crafty people I find.  How great would it be to become a “Craftinista”, teach crafts that are proven to be a lot of fun and show and sell your own crafts?  I’m in the process of setting up a “back-office” website for potential downline Craftinistas…with video tutorials (I totally need a haircut) and shopping carts.

Yeah, this is for reals.  I’m all tingly! lol!

Please, PLEASE, check out the website and give me your feedback- either on content or intention.  Tell me what you think.  I give out customer survey cards to the kids after each class and I can’t believe the amount of exclamation points I’m getting back.  You don’t have to use too many explanation points when you critique my new company…

One will do.

 

4 thoughts on “Drumroll, Please

  1. I think it is a great idea! Looks like it could be a lot of fun, great for a birthday party or mom’s night out. Sometimes I want to try new crafts but don’t want to invest in the cost of all the tools that might be needed. This would be a great way to try it out. Congrats and good luck!

    • Thanks so much! I was thinking the same thing about the cost of a new craft. In fact, most of the crafts I’m doing I’m starting with stuff leftover from Mom’s and a lot of crap I have laying around.

      Did you look at the website? Any criticisms? I can take it, I’m wearing big girl pants!

  2. This is such an awesome idea. I absolutely love it! And the web site is so cute. The only thing I noticed was the spacing on the About Us page. The text ends a bit abruptly at the bottom.
    And I would definitely get pics of those girls doing the crafts and post some of those if you can! Fun in action. 🙂
    Hope it goes well and can’t wait to get progress reports.

    • Thanks for the feedback, Jansie! The first few classes went by so fast and we had so much fun I TOTALLY forgot to take pictures. I remembered last week, and tonight I’ll take more! I’ll fix the About Me page too- thank you for looking!

Leave a Reply

