Transcend the Annoyance, Bask in the Good Stuff

Okay, enough with the pity party.  I’m sure my family will attest that my mood swings are all a part of this journey called MENOPAUSE.  Lovely.  I’m sure it will get worse before it gets better.  In the meantime, I am doing yoga and meditating and trying hard to transcend the annoyances in my life.

Let’s get on with it, girlie.

Yesterday I mentioned one offspring- Kansas- who resumed her blog and started another.  I commend her for sticking to it and getting all her thoughts down (and entertaining me as well).  But there is other news in the household.  I haven’t written about the huge goings on with my other two offspring:

Beena, my little math geek, has earned her Master’s Degree in Education!  She’s completely finished with school and is now a step ahead of all the other would-be teachers out there. We’re so proud of her!  This past semester, she taught 7th and 9th graders mathematics and loved every minute of it.  I’ve never seen a person more suited to a chosen career than Beena.  She’s been wanting to teach since she was three years old and now she’s ready and fully prepared to go out in the world to do so.  She’s also taken her teaching certification test and already interviewed for a full-time position in one of the local schools.  Keep your fingers and toes crossed.  She needs to buy a car and pay off those loans…

Zombiegirl has declared herself  10% less cool than she once was.  I say in 20 months she’ll be 20% more beautiful than she ever was.  The kid is sporting new grills!  We thought she would only need a few brackets to straighten out her lower teeth, but seems the kid has a “deep bite”, meaning her uppers come down almost covering her lowers.  She’s full metal mouth and has two little plastic bars glued to the backs of her front teeth to prevent her upper teeth to meet her lower teeth.  Eventually, they’ll be lowered into the correct position, but for now she can only slightly chew her food.  She worries that she’s been swallowing her dinner whole, but since she’s been living on macaroni and cheese, I don’t think that’s a problem.  Beena offered to chew it for her, but Zombiegirl politely declined by pretending to vomit into her mac and cheese.  She didn’t take anything for the pain (my little trooper) and is only experiencing slight discomfort.  I experienced deja vu going back to the orthodontist, because of all those years with Beena and her teeny tiny palette.  Z-girl’s mouth isn’t as bad as Beena’s is, however.  With all the new technology, the kid will be smiling perfectly before her 8th grade graduation.

Now with the extra monthly payment for the braces (which equals a small car payment) I’m looking to give up a few “luxuries”.  Since my extreme coupon is saving me money (I don’t have to buy deodorant or hair color for the next two years, yay!) do you think anyone would notice if we don’t eat?

Or live on mac and cheese for the next 20 months?

It IS vegetarian….

Leave a Reply

