Scorecard 2011 Week #1

I wasn’t going to post my New Year’s Resolutions on my blog.  Everyone in blogland is posting theirs and recapping what they didn’t do/accomplish in 2010.  I didn’t want to post empty promises to myself and get depressed when I read them over next year.  As Beena noted, making resolutions just sets one up for failure. 

But I do have four changes I want to make in my life.  And I do need to keep track of how I’m doing, so bear with me- it’s going to be a weekly thing.  By the time a few months go by and it becomes second nature, I won’t have to stress (and bore you to tears) about it.

Change #1- No more sugar- natural or otherwise.  This week, I give myself a 98% success rate.  There are leftover cookies at my house and the Frost Valley candy sale going on, but I haven’t touched any of it.  The only sugar I’ve had was accidentally when I bought a coffee at the train station.  The coffee guy knows me and put sugar in the cup before I could stop him.  Frankly, I didn’t even realize it until I tasted it.  After four days of no sugar in my coffee, it was too sweet.

Change #2- Bring breakfast everyday and three days worth of lunch in to work.  I’m reserving the remaining two days for Stir Fry at the 299 Park Avenue cafeteria and my weekly Chipotle fix. I can NOT give those two lunches up.  It’s what I live for.  I give myself an 65% success rate.  I forgot to bring lunch yesterday and forgot breakfast and lunch today.

Change #3- Follow a cleaning schedule.  A mix of Flylady and simplemom.net.  I need to do a little each day to maintain the cleanliness and organization of the house.  Unfortunately, I crapped out by Tuesday, so my success rate is around 10%.  Reboot.

Change #4- Go to the gym everyday.  Yoga on weekends.  I love doing these things and I’m paying for them, so why don’t I do them?  Because I’m too freaking tired all the time.  I know it’s no excuse, so I’m determined to exercise every day.  I didn’t this week, though, due to some untimely (New Year’s Eve) girly problems.  This change will start Monday, January 10th.

I’m also working hard on my 101 in 1001 list.  I was a total slacker last year and I have a little bit over a year and a half to finish.  There are projects underway that are helping me meet those goals.

So they’re not really big changes but they are changes I can manage and they’ll help my health and well-being in the long run.

Okay, place your bets…

Leave a Reply

