Countdown to Christmas – The Sounds of Silence

If it’s Tuesday or Thursday I’m in my own office at work, behind my little wall and I’m able to blast music courtesy of Pandora.com.  (It helps to drown out the “ambient” noise of our very friendly help-desk lady.)  Starting December 1, my stations on Pandora changed from Zydeco and New Orleans Jazz to Swingin’ Christmas, Classical Christmas, Christmas Radio and Trans-Siberian Orchestra.  Whenever I’m in the car, I change the radio station to 106.7 Lite FM, where they play 24-7 Christmas music until December 26th.

I also listen to the radio in my head.

There is a continuous soundtrack rolling through my brain.  It’s very suggestive- if you hum a song, the soundtrack will immediately pick it up and loop it for hours.  I’ll often find myself whistling or humming and sometimes even singing out loud to something I’ve heard hours ago.  The most inappropriate songs pop-up at the weirdest times.

Ring My Bell by Anita Ward ringing through my head at church.

Soul Man by the Blues Brothers in my weekly CAFM Meeting.

Pass The Dutchy by Musical Youth getting all snuggly with MR.

It’s like I have WKRP transmitting in my skull.  I hear this music while people are talking, when reading or on the train.  It gets distracting sometimes when I’m really trying to concentrate on work.  Other than that, I’m pretty used to it.  I can tell you at any time what’s playing on my head-jukebox.  Sometimes it’s snippets of song interwoven with other lines from other songs.

But it’s NEVER original.  I would be able to make a fortune if I was MAKING UP songs in my head. 

Christmas time is the worst.  I’m listening (happily) to songs I don’t hear during the year.  For a few weeks in the beginning of December, all that was continuously playing was You’re a Mean One, Mr. Grinch.

Yes, sometimes the songs reflect my mood.  I Want a Hippopotamus For Christmas makes frequent appearances.

I should utilize my iPod more.  Plug into real music.  That’s the only time I don’t hear any overlapping music in the old cerebellum.

Except for this morning.

I was between Snooze Alerts (that blissful 9 minutes of twilight sleep where most of my vivid dreams occur) and I had just laid back down from smacking the Snooze Button.  I snuggled further under the comforter and tried not to think about anything.

I then realized nothing was playing in my head.  No talking.  Nothing.  Pure silence.  About 30 seconds worth.

I shook my head, waking myself up further, and at that moment jump starting the radio-brain- kind of like smacking the side of an old Zenith to get between the numbers to pick up a stronger signal.  Bohemian Rhapsody started in on “Bismillah, no, we will not let you go…” verse.

Sigh.  I guess it could be worse.

There could be voices in my head telling me to kill…kill everyone.  Kiiiill.

“All the single ladies, all the single ladies, all the single ladies….”

Leave a Reply

