450 of 1001

I finished The House by the Medlar Tree awhile ago.  My Goodreads review:

Also known as I, Malavoglia.

Whatever it’s known as, I didn’t like this at all.  Yes, I get the family’s struggle with poverty, war and disgrace.  Yes, I get the small village mentality (I think the Village should be a character in itself) where everyone knows everyone else.  All that is well and good in a book.

As I read, however, I felt like I was leaning over the back fence chatting with my neighbors.  It was almost embarrassing at times, seeing into other people’s lives as the author creates the story narrated by villager after villager- in dialogue, no less.

It was hard to get through.  It was slow and repetitive.  I guess I can see why it’s on the 1001 books to read before one dies, but I would absolutely save this one for last.

The last two books were so disappointing.  I was expecting something fantastic, something so deep and enthralling I couldn’t die until I’ve read them.

Meh.  I’m beginning to question who made up this list…

Ah well, onto the next one.  Zombiegirl picks number 450, which is The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie, by Muriel Spark.  Okay, I’ve heard of this one.  Or was it the movie I’m thinking of?  Either way, it received good reviews on Goodreads, so I’m (semi) excited to start it.

We’ll see.

Leave a Reply

