Less Than an Hour a Day

Beena gave me a little homework assignment last night- break one typical week of my life down to 168 hours to see where I spend most of my time.  She was rightly pissed and depressed about the amount of time she had left over to herself every day (1-1/2 hours).  I’m not sure if I want to do this, but okay, here goes.

Tackling the obvious chunks of time first:

  • Two hours each way commuting to work.  Total= 4 hours a day, 20 hours a week.  It could be a little more, a little less, depending on traffic, MTA breakdowns or random Acts of God.
  • Seven to eight hours a day working.  I’m including time taken for lunch in those hours since I rarely take more than 20 minutes to run to the library or get something to eat and bring it back to my desk to continue to work. Total time= 40 hours a week.
  • I usually go to bed at 11ish each night, and wake up at 6ish.  If I’m energetic, I get up before 5 a.m. to go to the gym, but I haven’t been feeling energetic lately so I’ll leave it at 6 a.m.  Total= 7 hours a night, 49 hours a week.

Now for the smaller chunks of time:

  • Getting ready for work, and on the weekend:  45 minutes a day, 5.25 hours a week.
  • Planning, cooking and eating dinner:  1.5 hours a day, 10.5 hours a week.
  • Planning, cooking and eating during the weekend: 1 hour a day, 2 hours a week.
  • Soccer related activities for Zombiegirl or MR:  3 hours per person, including traveling and watching the actual game= 6 hours a week.
  • Cleaning/straightening up the house: This varies since sometimes on the weekend I could do a four-hour cleanup.  I’m going to give it 5.5 hours a week.
  • Shopping for food and/or other stuffs:  I know my kids will claim I don’t go food shopping often enough, but when I do it usually takes me two hours to shop and put the groceries away.  I will say I “go” once a week= 2 hours a week.
  • Laundry.  I usually throw in a load of laundry every other day.  I used to fold Z-girl’s laundry and put it in her basket to take upstairs, but it’s become a permanent fixture, more like another dresser, in the laundry room.  The clothes in it are no longer folded, so I gave up that task.  Why bother?  Saves a ton of time.  I also hang 80% of my laundry out so that takes a little time.  Say 2 hours a week washing, drying, folding, ironing and putting away.  Add another hour to go through socks=3 hours a week.
  • Church.  Even though I haven’t gone in a while, it’s been a part of my typical week practically all my life and yes, I am planning on going back.  Add 1.5 hours a week for church and church related activities.
  • HBO.  Sunday nights are date nights with MR.  Every Sunday night for the past few years we’ve watched Sopranos, Rome, Carnivale, True Blood and most recently, Boardwalk Empire.  Or, on Showtime, Spartacus. Ah, Spartacus.  Popcorn is a must.  Time spent= 1 hour a week.

This all adds up to 145.75 hours, which leaves me with 22.25 hours left of free time.  Now since I don’t work on the weekends, I’m going to have more free time on the weekends- maybe 16 – 18 hours?  In those free hours you could feasibly find me gardening, spackling, painting, crafting, taking Z-girl to a birthday party or going to the beach house.  This sounds good to me since the weekends were made to be free to do anything you wish.  That leaves me with 4.25 – 6.25 hours during the week to unwind, make phone calls, surf the net, answer emails, blog, organize school stuff, tickle ZG, talk to Beena, go to the gym or spend quality time with MR.  Less than an hour a day.

That is not a lot.  Something has to give.

My family may have to go without clean clothes for a while.

Leave a Reply

