369 of 1001

I finished Franz Kafka’s The Trial and I have to admit I was pleasantly surprised. You can find my review here, at Goodreads.

Zombiegirl picked the next number 498 The Trusting and the Maimed by James Plunkett, but it seems that book is a) out of print, b) only available to read IN the NYC Library, not to take out, and c) not heard of at Barnes and Noble or Borders or Half.com.  So I threw it on my wish list at Paperback Swap– we’ll see if it ever turns up.

What?  I didn’t tell you about Paperback Swap.com? 

It’s really just as the name suggests- a book swap (and DVD’s and CD’s) of your unwanted books for books you really want to read.  No money changing hands- you pay the media rate postage to ship the book.  I’ve replaced a lot of books that went missing over the years from Paperback Swap.  I’ve got a wish list of books I want and I hope, eventually, someone will put them online.

So I kiboshed #498 and asked Zombiegirl to pick another.In the middle of a baseball game against the Hudson Valley Renegades and the Aberdeen IronBirds she picked another number.  (She’s staying at Grandma Jo’s for a few days and Aunt Lau and Uncle Ick took her to this minor league game.)

So, next up is number 369- Troubles by J.G. Farrell.  Sounds good, and easy to obtain.  It rated mostly five stars on Goodreads, too.

Batter up!

Leave a Reply

